What Now?

From September 22nd, 2006

I have not ever really thought about this until recently. At some point in what we would call history, the trinity planned a rescue. They saw what needed to be done and formed a plan. A plan that would be costly but in the end would mean rescue. Rescue for you from having no home or name or future. Rescue from just life to life abundant.

I’ve been thinking about that and how God must have felt at that point. That there was a feeling of anticipation, excitement and still a wish that the plan could work out sooner.

 

What has caused me to think about these things is something some of our friends know has been on our hearts for a long time now. We feel that the time is right for us to move forward on a plan to adopt a little girl from China. It is not a decision we have come lightly to. I wish in some way it was one that we immediately responded to but it was not. I worried about all sorts of things, but in the end it’s a no brainier. James made it pretty clear what pure religion is…so we have begun the process.

 

Will it be costly? Yes. But it will mean a little girl will have a home, she will be sought after and given a name and a future. Her future will include learning about the one that was willing to give up everything to adopt her and that’s more important that what we will sacrifice.

 

I know many of you will have all sorts of questions (both you who comment and those who do not). Questions such as why China and why you and why now and….

 

I hope those things will become apparent to you.

 

I ask for your prayers regarding our first decision which is choosing between two agencies. Lifeline in Birmingham and Bethany which has an office a bit closer to us.

 

A year or two maybe in a bible class on finances we were all given between 5 and 10 dollars to use to further God’s kingdom. Long story but we landed on using that money towards this effort. The night when we all shared how we had used the money. I read this song which still gets me.

 

 

What Now? By Steven Curtis Chapman

 

I saw the face of Jesus in a little orphan girl
She was standing in the corner on the other side of the world
And I heard the voice of Jesus gently whisper to my heart
Didn’t you say you wanted to find me?
Well, here I am, here you are

So, What now?
What will you do now that you found Me?
What now?
What will you do with this treasure you’ve found?
I know I may not look like what you expected
But if you’ll remember this is right where I said I would be
You’ve found me
What now?

Leave a comment

Filed under Adoption

Leave a Reply

