Welcome To Our Adoption Journal

We had our first meeting with the social worker who’s doing our home study today. It went well, and we are so excited about really getting started! On the other hand I have had a hard time trying to do something which should be very simple–getting my passport photo. After two trips to Walgreens and two photos taken, I still don’t have photos. I hope they will be waiting for me in the morning. Also, we have been filling out paperwork yesterday and today, and I have had a splitting headache that I cannot get rid of for the past day and a half. I’m started to believe that there’s something more going on here. There IS someone who does not want this adoption to take place and will do whatever he can to discourage us. So we have been praying against the spiritual battle that we believe is going on around us. Scripture makes it clear that there is an invisible battle going on around us.
I just had a conversation yesterday with a friend about how Satan takes something that we believe God has led us to do and tries to twist it and use it to pull us away from God instead. I am experiencing that now. I tend to be obsessive about whatever I happen to be interested in at any given time. Right now that is China and adoption. I’m reading everything I can about China, why so many girls are abandoned in China, adopted children, the adoption process, etc. I am even listen to a cd of the Beijing Children’s Choir of Chinese songs. I am obsessed with this to the point that I have to force myself to stop reading about these things to spend time with God. I know that it should not be this way. So I have been praying that this adoption process would draw me closer to God instead of away. And in addition, I am doing what my friend suggested and letting Satan know that this is between me and God and to butt out.

Some prayer requests:

The wait right now from the time we send all of our documents to China until being assigned a child is 14 months. That with the 4-5 months it normally takes to get all the needed documents ready to send to China plus the 4-8 weeks to receive travel approval and make travel arrangements make this process as long as 20-21 months. The time from mailing documents to China to receiving a referral (your assigned child) has been known to decrease to as low as 8 months at this time last year. We are trying to get our documents ready in as little as 2-3 months. Please pray for us as we work on this–it’s been very stressful so far. Also, pray that the time to receive a referral from China will decrease. And as always pray for our daughter who most likely has not been born yet but will be abandoned at some point and sent to live in an orphange.

Thanks so much for all of your prayers.

We love you!
Kim

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Welcome To Our Adoption Journal

  1. What a journey this is gonna be! OK, guys… I’m in it with you for the long haul. Prayer without ceasing… It’ll be exciting to see God transform your family… not just in number and appearance, but in the core of your being. I know you’ll all be different because of this beautiful obedience to God…

  2. Julie

    You have the patience and courage it takes to go through this process! Sending love and prayers!

  3. Amy

    Kim, thanks for the link! I will look forward to keeping up with your process. You and Tommy and boys will be such a blessing to Rachel.

    P.S. Love the name! 🙂

  4. Laura

    Thank you for sharing your heart with us. You continue to inspire me with your earnest compassion!

Leave a Reply

