Resurrection

yellow-leaf-red-stem.jpg

If you’re reading for an adoption update, you need not read any further. This post has little to do with the adoption. I’ve found that it’s hard not to share other things that are going on in my life. I’m seeing why this blogging stuff is so addicting.

This song expresses perfectly where I have been this week.

Resurrection(Nicol Sponberg)

I’m at a loss for words

There’s nothing to say

I sit in silence wondering what led me to this place

How did my heart become so lifeless and cold

Where did the passion go?

When all my efforts seem like chasing the wind

I’ve used up all my strength and there’s nothing left to give

I’ve lost the feeling and I’m numb to the core

Can’t fake it anymore

Here I am, at the end

I’m in need of resurrection

Only You can take this empty shell

And raise it from the dead

What I’ve lost to the world

What seems far beyond redemption

You can take the pieces in Your hand

And make me whole again

You speak and all creation falls to its knees

You raise Your hand and calm the waves of the raging sea

You have a way of turning winter to spring

Make something beautiful out of all the suffering

Here I am, at the end

I’m in need of resurrection

Only You can take this empty shell

And raise it from the dead

What I’ve lost to the world

What seems far beyond redemption

You can take the pieces in Your hand

And make me whole again

I have had a really hard week. And I have not been spending much time with God. And when I do it is dry. Then this morning–breakthrough! All praise to You, God! You are faithful and gracious, always there waiting for me whenever I come back from wherever I’ve been. God is so good!

I awoke early this morning (unlike most mornings this week where it was all I could do to open my eyes). I arose to have my time with God still feeling very dry, tired, worn. So I listened to some worship music. Prissy, my sweet little cat, climbs in my lap, like she does every morning that I rise early and sit in this chair to spend time with God. But this morning, suddenly it’s as if God is saying, “I choose you–everyday I choose you through this small, beautiful creature I’ve given to you. I choose you.” And my time spent stroking Prissy while she warms my lap becomes worship to God.

Now if I could only transfer this to every element of my life. All of these things–the blessings and even the some of the burdens are God saying, “I love you. I choose you.” I look out of the kitchen window and the yellowing leaves are God saying, “I love you. This is for you.”

I’m reminded of a friend who says, “Thank you, God, for these dirty socks, ” as she does her families’ laundry. There are so many blessings in disguise if we only have eyes to see.

1 Comment

Filed under Spiritual Musings

One response to “Resurrection

Leave a Reply

