PRAY! PRAY! PRAY!

Happy Chinese New Year! In China they are celebrating the new year from Feb. 18-24. I bought a few Chinese New Year ornaments at Hobby Lobby. We have Rachel’s Asian baby doll dressed in her Chinese New Year dress. (I’ll try to post a photo soon.)  The boys and I have been reading about the Chinese New Year celebrations in a book I have about Chinese holidays and celebrations. We plan to make some paper lanterns and have Chinese for supper one night. I haven’t decided yet whether I’m going to try to cook it or get take out. Our book has recipes, but I’m leaning toward take-out.

I apologize that I have not posted in so long. I’ve been waiting, hoping that I would have some news to post. Instead, we are still waiting…on our CIS approval. It has been 8 weeks today since the immigration office in Metairie received our home study. They are supposedly a fast office–we’ve heard even giving approval within 3-4 weeks.  So we need prayers, big time. Our window of opportunity to adopt from China is closing.

May 1st new adoption regulations will go into effect. One of these regulations is that adoptive parents cannot have taken any antidepressants within the past two years. Well, I’ve been on antidepressants for the past 6 years. If we do not get logged-in to the Chinese adoption system by May 1st, then we will not be able to adopt from China. So we REALLY need our CIS approval SOON! Once we get it we still have to get everything stamped at the Chinese Consulate in Houston which takes about 10 days and then send our dossier to China where it has to be translated. From what I’ve seen it takes about a month from the time the dossiers sent to China until you are given a log-in date. So we are really getting down to the wire as far as our time frame for being able to adopt.

I am strangely at peace with all of this. I think part of it is that I’ve been too busy to worry about it. We’ve prayed a lot about this, and we are just trying our best to trust God and His timing. We greatly appreciate your prayers on our behalf.

Another prayer request–next month a new list of special needs children comes out. I have been drawn to the idea of adopting a special needs child from the beginning. Tommy, as always, is lovingly concerned about any additional stress on me. But many of these children have easily correctable problems or problems that have already been corrected. If we choose to adopt a special needs child, we would have Rachel home significantly sooner and the cost is slightly less. Please pray that God will lead us in the direction we need to go.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “PRAY! PRAY! PRAY!

  1. I will continue to pray for you all….especially Rachel

  2. Hi! Not sure if you remember me or not but we met at the informational meeting in Oxford with Bethany. I’ve been reading your blog and want you to know that I’ll be praying for you guys. Unfortunately, we’ve hit a bump in the road with our process. My dad has been in the hospital all but 3 weeks since Oct. 12th and is not doing very well. We started the adoption process and sent in our medical exams, references, etc. Well, our sw told us we needed to put the process on hold because we’re living with my dad until construction on our house is completed. She said that he would have to pass a medical exam as well or China would deny it. I never dreamed it would be a problem because we should be in our house around June or July but she said they couldn’t do the homestudy based on the future it has to be on the current situation. Soooo, we will just pick up where we left off when we get in our house. None of the new requirements will effect us, but it’s discouraging to know that it will be 6 months longer than what we expected. The waits are long enough right now anyway.
    Anyway, keep us in your prayers too and we’ll be remembering you as well.
    Jennifer Kennedy

  3. katie

    Hello,

    My name is Katie and I am so happy that you will soon have a child. I found your web site becuase I’m seraching for information about how to get approved to be an adoptive parent, even though I take anti depressants. Can you help me to find some answers?

    Thank you so much!

    Take care,

    Katie

Leave a Reply

