Prayer

I love the prayers in the book The Divine Hours. Here’s the morning prayer.

Lord God, almighty and everlasting Father, you have brought me in safety to this new day: Preserve me with your mighty power, that I may not fall into sin, nor be overcome by adversity; and in all I do direct me to the fulfilling of your purpose through Jesus Christ my Lord. Amen.

I love the part–“in all I do direct me to the fulfilling of your purpose through Jesus Christ my Lord.” In John Eldredge’s new book, Way of the Wild Heart, he asks God periodically, “What do you have for me?” I am trying to learn to do this throughout the day so that I can follow the plan God has for my day instead of my own agenda. It’s hard though. With three kids I usually automatically go to whatever the next most pressing thing is. It’s also hard to quiet myself enough to listen to the voice of God with three kids and all their noise. But this is a process after all. It takes times I keep reminding myself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Musings

Leave a Reply

