Will Someone Be Real PLEASE! Part 5

Today is the day to donate $10 to Love Without Boundaries. It just needs to be before noon tomorrow. See my post below for more info.

Here’s a poem I found today:

There is a vitality, a life force, a quickening
That is translated through you into action,
And because there is only one of you in all time,
This expression is unique.

And if you block it,
It will never exist through any other medium
And be lost.
The world will not have it.
It is not your business to determine how good it is:
Nor how valuable it is: nor how it compares with other expressions.
It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly,
To keep the channel open.

You do not even have to believe in yourself or your work.
You have to keep open and aware directly
To the urges that motivate you.

Keep the channel open.
No artist is ever pleased
There is no satisfaction whatever at any time.
There is only a queer, divine satisfaction,
A blessed unrest that keeps us marching
And makes us more alive than the others.
– Martha Graham

The poem is speaking of many different ways we offer what we have, but I think that it applies to sharing pieces of our lives verbally. We’ve discussed many reasons people are afraid to be vulnerable with others. Do you think another reason is that many do not believe that they have anything to offer?

I’m going to share another song. Music is a very valuable part of my life. It helps me stay focused on what’s really important throughout the day, like when I’m fixing supper or in the middle of another activity and do not have a hand to flip through a Bible. Also, there are many great Christian artists out there who are not afraid to reveal deep parts of themselves through their music. That’s why so many people identify with music–they can hear someone sing about an experience good or bad and think “Hey, I’ve felt that same way.” Also, it illustrates how much we can learn from each other by sharing what God is teaching us. Jill Phillips is one of those artists who I’ve come to think highly of.

Here’s a song my family heard her perform at Andrew Peterson’s Behold the Lamb of God tour in December(here’s a link to my belated post about that):

Working hard to tie up the lose ends

So hard to decide who you let in

Put your best foot forward with a grin

I can see the fear behind your eyes

Wondering if someone will recognize

You’ve grown tired of keeping up the lies

 

Don’t whitewash the truth about yourself ‘cause

Nobody’s got it all together

If you want to be like everyone else, well

Nobody’s got it all together

 

I have seen the darkness of my heart

And found a love that’s shown me it’s too hard

To walk through life and not let down my guard

What good is it to say “Please Savior come”

If there is nothing you need rescue from

Life is something no one has a corner on

 

Don’t whitewash the truth about yourself ‘cause

Nobody’s got it all together

If you want to be like everyone else, well

Nobody’s got it all together

 

When the parts that are self-righteous

Start to disappear

Every other life is

Just another mirror

 

Life is way too short to run and hide

 

Don’t whitewash the truth about yourself ‘cause

Nobody’s got it all together

If you want to be like everyone else, well

Nobody’s got it all together

This songs raises some really hard questions. I’m a little scared to go there, but, what the heck, I’ll just plow on ahead! Amy asked the question in her comments on my first post– is there a relationship between the extent of our openness with others and the extent that we are open and honest with God? It’s a good question and something to spend some time thinking about. What do you think?

For those who don’t read lyrics.  Here is a video of the song.  (added by ‘the artist formerly known as Tommy’)

2 Comments

Filed under Honesty

2 responses to “Will Someone Be Real PLEASE! Part 5

  1. I now find it easy to be very open with God. I have learned to even shout my frustration and plead for understanding of weird attitudes and moods that I get. I have not always been that open. But I am not trying to hide from God…I am trying to be an open book to Him and to let him shape my heart….that is a good place to be.

    Does it make me more open to my friends? I think it makes me more open to make new friends..and sometimes it is easier to be more open when there is fewer preconceived ideas…if that makes sense…

  2. Thanks for the addition…I am one of the “Reading Lyrics Challenged”……

Leave a Reply

