Touch a Life Ministries

Okay, okay, I’m sure everyone who checks my blog regularly is sick of all my appeals to help people. But I just cannot ignore all the hurt and hunger and cruelty in the world. This has nothing to do with obligation or works-related religion. It has everything to do with the fact that I was somehow chosen to be born into the wealthiest country in the world. Something to do with the fact that even with all of my riches the most precious treasure to me is Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior. I know that it pains Christ and the Father to see all of the suffering here. It has something to do with the fact that God in some miraculous way can use even me to bring redemption to our planet one person at a time.

I read somewhere, I think in The Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne, about someone who said that they were afraid to ask God where He was whenever hearing of some crisis situation because they were afraid that God would ask them the same question. We are called to be the body of Christ. We are to be doing on earth what Christ did when He was on earth, bringing hope and life and redemption and healing.

The following was on the blog of Touch a Life Ministries. This is the ministry started by Pam Cope (Mike Cope’s sister-in-law for those of you familiar with church of Christ circles). They help in many different places around the world, but one of their main focuses is on freeing people, especially children, from slavery. Their blog is such an inspiration to me and helps me not to push aside all of the hurts that are out there.

I was hungry
and you formed a humanities club
and you discussed my hunger

Thank You

I was imprisoned
and you crept off quietly
to your chapel in the cellar
and prayed for my release.

I was naked
and in your mind
you debated the morality of my
appearance.

I was sick
and you knelt and thanked God
for your health.

I was homeless
and you preached to me
of the spiritual shelter of the
Love of God.

I was lonely
And you left me alone
To pray for me.

You seem so holy;
So close to God.
But I’m still very hungry
and lonely and cold

So where have your prayers gone?
What have they done?
What does it profit a man to page through his
book of prayers when the rest of the world is crying for help?

(Taken from the book titled “Simple Faith” by Charles Swindoll)

I will honestly admit that I have days where I can’t take hearing about anymore of the evil in the world. On those days I hit delete whenever prayer requests from Voice of the Martyr’s pop up on my e-mail. I throw mail from Food for the Hungry and World Vision in the trash. I sometimes just need a break from hearing about all the pain and sickness and hurt. But what keeps me coming back is that their are people in the world for whom this is their life. Their is no escaping by lying in a comfortable bed and watching tv for a few hours or spending an evening with friends laughing and eating too much. They cannot take a break from all of the painful things of this world because it is their life–pain and hunger and fear are a constant reality for them. Here is a link to Touch a Life Ministries’ blog.

There was a good post on Jan. 16th about the government’s plan to spend $150 billion dollars to stimulate the economy. The government is going to dump all this money back into the economy so that we as Americans will do what we do best–spend money–in order to get our economy back on track. The blogpost suggests that our government could use this vast amount of money to alleviate a great amount of the world’s suffering and still be able to give everyone a little bit to stimulate the economy. I’m not an economist, but I’m sick of it being all about us. All about keeping America living in the prosperity we enjoy. Don’t get me wrong! I’m so thankful for where I live. When I read about the tribal killings in Kenya, I thought, “I cannot imagine what it would be like to go to sleep fearing that someone will knock on my door in the night, drag me out of my house, and kill me because I am from the ‘wrong’ tribe.” I’m glad I can’t imagine that. I’m grateful that my children don’t have to experience that kind of fear.

This is getting long, but I think that this whole thing is why Obama is gathering such support for his presidential campaign. My dad, who is a staunch Republican, was trying to point out Obama’s weaknesses by saying that he’s just a charismatic idealist. Those words only make me like him more. I want things to change. I’m sick of the status quo. Most of my friends who are my age and younger are either so disillusioned with politics that they’ve given up on them completely resigning themselves to the fact that things will never change or are trying to impact the world by being the change themselves and supporting a leader who promotes change.

I may be getting myself into hot water broaching the political realm. I confess I’m completely ignorant about how most of the political system works. I just know that it’s not working for me. I’m not an Obama supporter. In fact if voting “NO” against all of the candidates was an option that’s probably what I would choose.

I am a supporter of changing our American-centric lifestyle. I would not mind giving up a little bit of my easy life if it would make things easier for some of the “least of these” in our world. I’d probably be a better person if I wasn’t so **** blessed anyway.

Oh, well. If you’ve stuck it all the way through this rambling post. Congratulations!

Leave a comment

Filed under My views on life, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

