God Is Here Even in China

I meant to share this before we left Wuhan.God is here with us even though sometimes it is hard to be still and quiet enough to feel His presence or to hear Him while chasing after a very busy five-year-old. 🙂

When I would awake in the early morning hours, I would lie in bed pouring my heart out to my Father. He would ever so gently cradle me in His arms and speak words of comfort to me.

In the weeks before travel but especially while we have been here, Papa keeps bringing to my mind a passage in Isaiah 43. It has been a long time favorite of mine but one that I haven’t thought about in a while.

1 But now, O Israel, the LORD who created you says: “Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. 2 When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. 3 For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. I gave Egypt, Ethiopia, and Seba as a ransom for your freedom. 4 Others died that you might live. I traded their lives for yours because you are precious to me. You are honored, and I love you. 5 “Do not be afraid, for I am with you. I will gather you and your children from east and west 6 and from north and south. I will bring my sons and daughters back to Israel from the distant corners of the earth. 7 All who claim me as their God will come, for I have made them for my glory. It was I who created them.”

Also, just this morning He showed me two verses in the Psalms.

Psalm 10:17,18–“Lord, you know the hopes of the helpless. Surely you will hear their cries and comfort them. You will bring justice to the orphans and the oppressed, so mere people can no longer terrify them.”

This passage makes me think not only of Suhui but of all the oppressed people in China who so need to hear about their Savior.

Also, Papa brought me comfort in Psalm 16:8 this morning.

“I know the Lord is always with me. I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me.”

Another thought: Being here with Aaron and Erica has reminded me again of how relational we are and how we are made to live in community. We are created in the image of our Creator who is at His core relational. The Trinity is the ultimate relationship of love.

We were surrounded by millions of people in Wuhan, but we could not communicate with them. So we could not give or receive comfort from them. It is so refreshing to have someone to share our experiences with here in Guangzhou! I am so thankful that we were able to travel at the same time as the Hammonds! 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “God Is Here Even in China

  1. Kim and Tommy
    I love the wonderful verse and so true. WE are praying for you and how I know that is so hard right now. It will get easier once you get home and in your surroundings. Im so glad you got to share the second part of your trip with the Hammonds. God has blessed us all with wonderful friends.

    Love
    Connie

  2. Linda/Robert

    Thank you for sharing all that you have about Rachel Suhui – the good and the bad, but thank you more for showing how God it the great comforter. All of us want to help and try to make things better, but no one can begin to do what God can!! I am thrilled to know that even though you are under a large amount of stress right now you can still hear Him and feel His gentle presence. I love you, Kim, and look forward to seeing you soon. Linda

  3. Renee

    What an amazing story! My heart is with you–all four and the boys at home. I so much admire your honesty about everything that is happening, even the hard times. What a gift to be able to share your story in such a real way. I am praying especially for you, Kim. Now and in the coming days. So excited you are on the “last leg of the journey” that has just begun!

    Love to you all! Renee

  4. Erica

    Oh Kim…I’m just getting time to catch up on your blog. I too am so grateful that we were able to be together for the last part of our trip. I want you to know that I am praying for you and for your entire family during this adjustment time. I have had a lot of time to pray lately as I hold YouYou in the wee hours of the morning 🙂 We had our IAC appointment today and I want to blog about it soon but I can’t find the cord for my camera to upload the pictures! Oh well, it gave me time to catch up with you…

    Give me a call soon!!!

    Erica

Leave a Reply

