My Dear Friends

I see Tommy already covered yesterday. Good, because I don’t feel like remembering it. I have a slight cold and didn’t feel so great. It was fun watching Suhui’s excitement over the animals. She yelled out at every animal “Beautiful!” When she said that about the rhinocerous, our guide Rebecca said, “Beautiful? I don’t think so.”

“Piao liang!” (Beautiful) is one of her favorite phrases. In the shopping mall she kept saying that about all of the clothes we passed. So I taught her “beautiful” in English. She also exclaims that over herself when she gets dressed, and we all exclaim with her “Beautiful! Piao liang!”

Yesterday morning and this morning I have been listening to Watermark on my ipod. Both mornings when I heard the song “More Than You’ll Ever Know” I thought of my dear friend Angie. She is staying with Eli and Titus while we are away. I know that Eli and Titus are having a blast. They love her to death. And Caleb is a little jealous that he is not getting to spend time with her. Angie, between you and China, you win out!

I have always considered this song Angie and my special song about our friendship. This morning it also brought to mind my other dear friends who help me through life and who have been encouraging me so much during this trip. So Angie, Linda, Kim C, and my sister Christy, this post is dedicated to you. (Hope the videos okay. I couldn’t listen to it without waking everyone.)

Something brought you to my mind today
I thought about the funny ways you make me laugh
And yet I feel like it’s okay to cry with you
Something about just being with you
When I leave I feel like I’ve been near God
And that’s the way it ought to be…

CHORUS:
‘Cause you’ve been more than a friend to me
You fight off my enemies
‘Cause you’ve spoken the Truth over my life
And you’ll never know what it means to me
Just to know you’ve been on your knees for me
Oh, you have blessed my life
More than you’ll ever know, yeah, yeah, yeah
More than you’ll ever know, yeah, yeah, yeah

You had faith, when I had none
You prayed God would bring me a brand new song
When I didn’t think I could find the strength to sing
And all the while I’m hoping that I’ll
Do the kind of praying for you that you’ve done for me
And that’s the way it ought to be…

You have carried me
You have taken upon a bruden that wasn’t your own
And may the blessing return to you
A hundredfold, oh yeah…
A hundredfold, oh yeah…


My dear sisters, I cannot thank you enough for the blessings that you have been in my life. I love you all deeply and am praying as I listen to this song that God will bless your lives a hundred times the blessings that you have brought to my life.


4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My Dear Friends

  1. Linda/Robert

    Dearest Kim, How can I begin to comment on something like that! You talk about feeling undeserving!!! I am only trying to PAY BACK!! for all of your selfless hours of love and devotion. For trying to help me see that there was a reason to want to live. For helping me to see that there was hope. You prayed with me when I was way beyond being able to pray. You held my hand and reassured me that life would get better. You were there when I was pushing everyone away. You did not give up on me. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!! With much love, my dear sister, Linda

  2. One outcome of these blogs has been that I want to meet Linda who has to be just an incredibly sweet and giving person. One of my favorite pictures is Robert and Caleb in the tub when they were babies. I know Daddy used to love the Robert and Caleb video with Kim’s sweet voice giving commentary.
    i did a little research on what the effect of China’s one child policy has had on the behavior of the children. Evidently the government failed to realize the amount of spoiling that would take place in these one child households. They even have a name for the children as a result of the spoiling – “Little Emperors”!!! But the good news is that it is not taking too long once the children are placed in a school setting with several other children of the same age – they see the others playing and interacting well together and they do not want to be left out, so they begin to modify their behavior.
    I am praying for the rest of the trip to be much easier for you. Kim, try to get some Vitamin C in Hong Kong to kick that cold.
    Love, Susan

  3. Kim

    Thanks Kim…you are too sweet and more of a blessing to me than you can possibly know…I look forward to many years of supporting, encouraging, and just plain being there for each other…God is so good to place all of us in each others lives…it is truly amazing that he knows just what we need…all of the time:)

  4. Christy

    Thank you, Kim, for the encouraging words and the song. You continue to always amaze me with thinking of others and spreading your love around this planet. You too mean more to me than you will know. I feel so truly blessed to have you as my sister and as one of my best friends. Thank you for speaking God to me, even when I don’t want to hear it!!! That’s what true love, God-deepened love is about. Eager to see you and hug you again.

Leave a Reply

