ONE YEAR!!!

One year ago today a little dark-haired girl walked into a room in China, saw us, and ran to us yelling “Mama! Baba!” changing our lives forever!

Here is a video my sweet husband made of Rachel’s first year with us:

I can hardly believe that it has been one year! Rachel and I have been talking a lot about China lately. I ask her questions about her foster family and life there because I want to know as much as I can, and she has not seemed to remember much so far or else she invents wild stories. Example: She told me recently that her foster dad has long pink hair. 🙂 She has been asking me how she came to live here. So I tell her the story over and over. I don’t know which one of us enjoys it more.

Last week after asking me about coming to live here again, she thoughtfully said, “Sometimes I like my home in China, but I like this home better.” A few weeks after getting home from Christmas travel, she said when we walked in the door, “I like this home!” These things just warm my heart!

This past year has been quite a ride, but it’s one that I would not have missed for the world!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “ONE YEAR!!!

  1. Yeah!!!!!
    I am so happy to see you all sooo happy!

    Happy New Year, Happy Gotcha Day!

    Hugs- Shelli,
    mama to Rou Rou and Hui Hui

  2. Love the video!!!!!
    I need the picture of Rachel on the beach in the white dress and he close-up of you, Tommy and Rachel for the Wuhan book!

    -Shelli

Leave a Reply

